fbpx

Carpark News

“Arc Light” music video

March 27, 2019 12:02 pm

Second single from Greys’ new record is out today via the YouTube. It’s heavy, and distorted, and encapsulates everything the band is putting forth in Age Hasn’t Spoiled You. Watch the vid for “Arc Light” here, directed by Rachelle Walker.

Shehzaad Jiwani on the video:
If there were one song to communicate everything Greys is about, it would be “Arc Light.” This is the first song we recorded for Age Hasn’t Spoiled You at the top of 2018, and each song we wrote over the year we spent making the album could trace a piece of itself back to this one. Musically, it’s everywhere we’ve been and everywhere we’re going. We tried to reimagine and recontextualize the tools we are comfortable using to make something new. The lyrics try to evoke a number of things within each line – mental exhaustion, content fatigue, tours of duty and alienation – and the images in the video reflect these overlapping concepts. The song lands somewhere between Unwound’s New Plastic Ideas and Check Your Head by the Beastie Boys. Or something. I don’t know. You tell me.

Age Hasn’t Spoiled You isn’t due out until May 10th, but you can pre-order the record from the Carpark shop and/or stream the first two single on your favorite streaming service.

“50-50” music video

March 12, 2019 11:24 am

Toro y Moi returns with another visual portrayal of Outer Peace. This time, Chaz Bear reunited with directors Justin Morris and Colin Matsui for “50-50.” The video shows Chaz making his way through a barren wasteland, caught somewhere between a nightmare and a dream. You can watch it all here.

“50-50” is officially out in the world. Pick up a physical copy or stream at one of these trustworthy websites.

Catch the band at a festival or DJ set this spring/summer.
March 22nd – New Orleans, LA – BUKU Music + Art Project
March 24th – Boise, ID – Treefort Music Fest
April 19th – Brooklyn, NY – Good Room (DJ set) – SOLD OUT
April 20th – Washington, DC – U Street Music Hall (DJ set) – SOLD OUT
April 25th – Mexico City, Mexico – Auditorio Blackberry
April 27th – Tequila, Mexicao – Akamba Festival
May 8th-13th – Bakersfield, CA – Lightning in a Bottle
May 22nd – Lisbon, Portugal – Lisboa Ao Vivo
May 23rd – Porto, Portugal – Hard Club
May 24th-25th – Madrid, Spain – Tomavistas Festival
May 26th – London, UK – All Points East
May 31st – Hamburg, Germany – Mojo Club
June 1st– Hilvarenbeek, Netherlands – Best Kept Secret Festival
June 2nd – Paris, France – We Love Green
June 15th – Berkeley, CA – The Greek Theatre
June 16th – Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Bowl
July 26th – Niigata, Japan – Fuji Rock Festival ’19

Greys announce new album + share the first single, “These Things Happen”

March 6, 2019 11:02 am

Beyond thrilled to share new music from Greys. Listen to the first single, “These Things Happen,” from their forthcoming record via The FADER … “[Greys] forgoes sheen with mountains of powerful, spiritualized-style fuzzes for maximum immersion.”

Age Hasn’t Spoiled You is due out May 10th. Pre-orders available here.

It coincided with the political and social climate decaying around us, which is a very peculiar experience to actually live through. Like, the last show we played in 2016 was literally a day or two before the election, and a year later there was talk of nuclear war…Our city has been gentrified to the point of being unrecognizable and inaccessible to me. Lots of changes on every level. Listening back, I think this record is largely informed by that sense of instability, musically as well as lyrically.  — Shehzaad Jiwani


Age Hasn’t Spoiled You
1. A-440
2. Arc Light
3. Constant Pose
4. These Things Happen
5. Kill Appeal
6. Western Guilt
7. Aphantasia
8. Tangerine
9. Burning Chrome
10. Shelley Duvall In 3 Women
11. Static Beach

“Uptown Girl” music video

February 27, 2019 2:08 pm

See what it’s like to be on tour with The Beths in their new music video for “Uptown Girl.” Lots of dogs, lots of laughs.

Some more good news, the band’s debut EP, Warm Blood,” is being pressed on vinyl for the first time. Pre-order a copy of this good looking pink vinyl today!

Catch The Beths on their current worldwide tour.
Tue. Feb. 26 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison (w/ Bad Bad Hats) (SOLD OUT)
Wed. Feb. 27 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Thu. Feb. 28 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Fri. Mar. 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg (w/ Bad Bad Hats) (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Mar. 2 – Washington, DC @ Union Stage (w/ Bad Bad Hats) (SOLD OUT)
Sun. Mar. 3 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Tue. Mar. 5 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Wed. Mar. 6 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall (w/ Bad Bad Hats) (SOLD OUT)
Thu. Mar. 7 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Fri. Mar. 8 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Sat. Mar. 9 – Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Sun. Mar. 10 – Tampa, FL @ Festival Gasparilla
Mon. Mar. 11-Fri. Mar. 15 – Austin, TX @ SXSW (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Sat. Mar. 16 – Dallas, TX @ Not So Fun Wknd (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Sun. Mar. 17 – Houston, TX @ Satellite Bar (w/ Bad Bad Hats)
Thu. Mar. 21 – Melbourne, AUS @ Forum
Fri. Mar. 22 – Melbourne, AUS @ Forum
Sun. Mar. 24 – Hobart, AUS @ Republic Bar & Café
Thu. Mar. 28 – Fortitude Valley, AUS @ The Foundry
Fri. Mar. 29 – Fortitude Valley @ The Tivoli
Sat. Mar. 30 – Newtown, AUS @ Enmore Theatre
Sun. Mar. 31 – Leichhardt, AUS @ Crowbar
Thu. Apr. 4 – Collingwood, AUS @ The Gasometer Hotel
Fri. Apr. 5 – Adelaide, AUS @ Thebarton Theatre
Sat. Apr. 6 – Adelaide, AUS @ Jive
Thu. Apr. 11 – Perth, AUS @ Badlands Bar
Sat. Apr. 13 – Perth, AUS @ Astor Theatre
Tue. May 7 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds
Wed. May 8 – Oxford, UK @ The Wheatsheaf
Thu. May 9-Sat. May 11 @ Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape
Sun. May 12 – Leeds, UK @ Gold Sounds Festival
Mon. May 13 – Edinburgh, UK @ Sneaky Pete’s (SOLD OUT)
Tue. May 14 – Glasgow, UK @ G2 (MOVED DUE TO DEMAND)
Wed. May 15 – Manchester, UK @ Band on the Wall (MOVED DUE TO DEMAND)
Thur. May. 16 – London, UK @ The Dome, Tufnell Park (SOLD OUT)
Fri. May 17 – Bristol, UK @ Fleece (MOVED DUE TO DEMAND)
Sat. May 18 – Wrexham, UK @ Ty Pawb Arts Hub (Focus Wales)
Sun. May 19 – Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Music Hall
Tue. May 21 – Paris, FR @ Supersonic
Wed. May 22 – Colmar, FR @ Le Grillen
Thu. May 23 – Lyon, FR @ Sonic
Sat. May 25 – Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas
Tue. May 28 – Dornbirn, AT @ Spielboden
Wed. May 29 – Munster, DE @ Gleis 22
Thu. May 30 – Groningen, NL @ VERA
Fri. May 31 – Nijmegen, NL @ Merleyn
Sat. June 1 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Sun. June 2 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sat. Aug. 3 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon
Thu. Aug. 15 – Trondheim, NO @ Pstereo
Sun. Aug. 18 – Haasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop
Wed. Aug. 28 – London, UK @ Heaven

Emily Reo shares new single “Ghosting”

February 26, 2019 12:19 pm

Experience the purgatorial euphoria of Emily Reo’s new single, “Ghosting,” via The FADER. “Like standing at an old-school pinball machine and watching it light up in front of you — an entrancing and wonderful sensation.”

The track is the second released from Reo’s forthcoming album, Only You Can See It. Pre-orders available now.

More tour dates announced.
3/7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade ^
4/3 – Gainesville, FL @ The Atlantic
4/4 – Orlando, FL @ The Social
4/12 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Geffen Contemporary at MOCA
4/13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Junior High * +
4/14 – San Francisco, CA @ Cafe Du Nord *
4/16 – Portland, OR @ TBA *
4/18 – Seattle, WA @ Woodland Theater *
4/24 – Washington, D.C. @ Comet Ping Pong *
4/26 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right * +
4/27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Philamoca *
4/29 – Cleveland, OH @ Mahall’s Locker Room *
4/30 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout *
5/2 – Toronto, ON @ Burdock *
5/3 – Montreal, QC @ La Sotterenea *
5/4 – Boston, MA @ Lilypad *

^ w/ Bellows
* w/ Foxes In Fiction
+ Only You Can See It Record Release show