Carpark News

Wendyfix unveils two-track release

August 20, 2018 11:18 am

Wendyfix just unveiled another early 90’s release. In the earliest days of the band, extended, minimalist winter jams were the order of the day, partly out of necessity. These were not virtuosic players; Chicago’s cold turned band practice into hibernation. The result: M/F / Clarion. Listen to the two-track release via your favorite streaming service.

1. M/F
2. Clarion

“Pillowhead” music video

February 20, 2018 3:36 pm

We’re excited to share another video from Wendyfix today for “Pillowhead”! Straight out of the 90s. It is the first video the band recorded in the Spring of 1994, in all its technicolor glory.

“Swinging Softly” music video

January 29, 2018 11:15 am

Get your 90’s fix with Wendyfix’s unreleased music video for “Swinging Softly,” directed by Steve Pilgrim. Check it out via UPROXX.

The video’s gives an intimate glimpse into the college lives of the band members, Hyman in particular: “Beginning and end shot at my senior year apartment,” he explained via email. “The rest was shot at a university building all night. We had to shoot at night because the room had some huge windows. You can notice the sun starting to come up at the end of the video. Just finished in time. It was a long night…”

We Have The Cracks is available on the Carpark shop and across all streaming services.

Two new digital releases from Chicago’s ’90s scene

January 12, 2018 10:01 am

Before there was Carpark Records, owner Todd Hyman was attending Northwestern University, voraciously consuming new music, and DJing at the college radio station, WNUR. In the four years he spent at the station he formed numerous bands with fellow “WNUR music obsessives.” Today, we are proud to bring you two very special unreleased records from Wendyfix and Remy.

To get a taste of what to expect, check out videos from both bands below.
Remy – “Coco Pebbles”
Wendyfix – “Ridge”

We hope you enjoy! Thanks for listening.

Remy – Remy

Remy was a mid 90s Chicago indie-rock power trio that emerged from a small organic pre-internet scene. Matt Walters (guitar), Peter Schaefer (bass), and Todd Hyman (drums) started playing music together, channeling the energies of Pavement, Polvo, and Archers of Loaf into something a little softer and less detached that they could call their own.

This collection was originally released as a cassette only in late 1995 on Matt Walters’ label Spade Kitty. The remastered version is now available digitally on the Carpark shop, iTunes, and Spotify

1. Coco Pebbles
2. Nitelite
3. Here Diagonally
4. Backpack
5. Going To Britain
6. Fade to Blue

Wendyfix – We Have The Cracks

1993 was a golden age for music in Chicago. Touch and Go, Drag City, Steve Albini, Tortoise, Jim O’Rourke. Yet on the geographical and formal edges of this cultural maelstrom was a group of young college students taking a different approach. Fusing together indie Anglophilia (New Order, Psychedelic Furs, Swervedriver) and the sensitive-emo of loud/quiet acts like Slint and Bedhead, Wendyfix was a blacksheep tilting at windmills in the Chicago indie music zeitgeist.

Get the entire oeuvre of Wendyfix digitally from the Carpark shopiTunes, and Spotify

We Have The Cracks
1. Ridge
2. Microphones + Megaphones
3. From the Balcony
4. Post Office
5. Blue Coal
6. Wake
7. Silence
8. Slow
9. Re-Grand Opening
10. Jujube
11. Crayon Portraits
12. Trained to Lose
13. Swinging Softly
14. Pillowhead
15. Knife’s Throw