The Beths Warm Blood


Apr 9th, 2018

The Beths’ Warm Blood is a strong contender for the catchiest record you’ve never heard. Formed when four jazz students at the University of Auckland bonded over their shared love of the pop-punk sounds of their youth, The Beths bring new energy to the genre. This 5-song debut EP, a deliriously pleasurable statement of purpose, comes crammed with enough blissful hooks to carry through most bands’ careers.
Listeners for whom the tag “New Zealand indie rock” brings to mind the Flying Nun sound of bands like The Clean and The Chills may be surprised to find Warm Blood’s five unstoppable tunes landing closer to artists like Slant 6 and The Breeders. The nimble guitar work here moves from heavy riffing reminiscent of Sleater-Kinney to hazily bending lines that would make Stephen Malkmus and Mary Timony beam, while the joyous vocal harmonies from all four members bubble and swell to ecstatic crescendos that channel The Zombies’ Odessey and Oracle.
With impeccable production from guitarist Jonathan Pearce and stellar musicianship across the board, Warm Blood is a non-stop delight. Tracks like leadoff track and first single “Whatever,” the ridiculously addictive standout “Idea/Intent,” and “Rush Hour 3,” a playful ode to romance in this era of download-and-chill franchise films, take delight in the challenge of breathing new energy into the limitations of the 3-minute pop song.
The Beths are now poised to take the U.S. and Europe by storm with their first western-hemisphere tour. This U.S. re-release of Warm Blood (released in New Zealand in 2016) offers a perfectly distilled introduction to a band that has become a live favorite Down Under.


1. Whatever
2. Warm Blood
3. Idea/Intent
4. Rush Hour 3
5. Lying in the Sun


Other Info

North America:

• North American publicity by Pitch Perfect
• College radio promotion by Terrorbird
• Cassette includes free digital download
• First North American tour dates this June
• Music Videos for “Whatever” and “Lying in the Sun” out now

Cassette: 677517012736
Digital: 677517012750

Press Photos

Hi-res TIFF album art:

Photo by: Amanda Cheng

Artist Bio

Playing a home show still feels special for The Beths, who have orbited in the fertile music scene of Auckland’s Karangahape Road since they were teenagers.

Lead vocalist and guitarist Elizabeth Stokes, lead guitarist Jonathan Pearce and bassist Benjamin Sinclair began playing shows in 2015, quickly winning over local audiences with a low-key approach that disguises a drive for excellence.

After building a loyal following through live performances and their 2016 EP Warm Blood, The Beths signed to Carpark Records and released debut album Future Me Hates Me in 2018. That album, full of fast riffs, catchy-as-hell hooks and self-deprecating lyrics, catapulted the band straight into a lengthy international tour that saw them support legends like The Pixies and Death Cab For Cutie as well as headlining increasingly large shows of their own. Drummer Tristan Deck, who had played with Pearce on other projects, came on board in 2019 during this wave of touring.

Jump Rope Gazers, released in July 2020, was a slower, yearning follow-up that still fizzes and sparks with pop-punk sensibilities, and was immediately seized on by both fans and music critics as a bright spot during a dark year.

It was named Album of the Year at New Zealand’s national Aotearoa Music Awards in 2020, as well as securing the band awards for Best Group and Best Alternative Artist for the second year running, following the success of Future Me Hates Me at the 2019 awards.

Auckland, New Zealand, 2020 is the band’s first live recording and showcases the infectious energy the band brings to every performance. The accompanying film makes the band’s deep bond clearer than ever, capturing the in-jokes they share with audiences during on-stage banter, and foregrounding their mutual preoccupations with the game of cricket and New Zealand’s native birds.

Stokes is responsible for The Beths’ nuanced lyrics, which reflect the various hues of friendships, relationships and trying to fight against your own worst tendencies. From there, the band workshops each song in Pearce’s Karangahape Road studio, swapping and manipulating parts and building the four-part harmonies that are a distinguishing feature of their sound.

After a southern hemisphere summer spent playing music festivals around New Zealand, new tunes are in the works as the band crafts its third album, which promises to be upbeat and positive: a direct response to a difficult 2020.